Althealth


Follow Alt Health on Twitter

Wheat Free

purpose
Gluten is the protein part of wheat, rye, barley, oats, and other related grains. Some people cannot tolerate gluten when it comes in contact with the small intestine. This condition is known as celiac disease (sometimes called non-tropical sprue or gluten sensitive enteropathy). There is also evidence that a skin disorder called dermatitis herpetiformis is associated with gluten intolerance.

In patients with celiac disease, gluten injures the lining of the small intestine. This injury results in weight loss, bloating, diarrhea, gas, abdominal cramps, or vitamin and mineral deficiencies. When patients totally eliminate gluten from the diet, the lining of the intestine has a chance to heal.

Removing gluten from the diet is not easy. Grains are used in the preparation of many foods. It is often hard to tell by an ingredient's name what may be in it, so it is easy to eat gluten without even knowing it. However, staying on a strict gluten-free diet can dramatically improve the patient's condition. Since it is necessary to remain on the gluten-free diet throughout life, it will be helpful to review it with a registered dietitian.

Foods likely to contain wheat:

Bakery products Many baked goods, most baking mixes, many crackers, pancakes, waffles
Beverages Instant breakfast drinks, postum, beer, including nonalcoholic beer
Cereals Many breakfast cereals
Condiments Gravies and sauces thickened with flour, soy sauce
Dessert/snacks Cakes, cookies, pies, etc., pretzels
Meat products prepared meat products, hot dogs, luncheon meats
Other Breaded foods, wheat tortillas, pasta, noodles

Nutrition Facts
Depending on the foods selected, the gluten-free diet can meet the Recommended Dietary Allowances (RDA) of the National Research Council.

Special Considerations
  1. The person who prepares the patient's food must fully understand the gluten-free diet. Read food labels carefully and do not use anything that contains the following grains: wheat, rye, barley, oats, buckwheat, millet, amaranth, and quinoa. The following do not contain gluten and can be eaten in any amount: corn, potato, rice, soybeans, tapioca, arrowroot, and carob.
  2. Grains are used in the processing of many ingredients, so it will be necessary to seek out hidden gluten. The following terms found in food labels may mean that there is gluten in the product.
    • Hydrolyzed Vegetable protein (HVp), unless made from soy or corn
    • Flour or Cereal products, unless made with pure rice flour, corn flour, potato flour, or soy flour
    • Vegetable protein unless made from soy or corn
    • Malt or Malt Flavoring unless derived from corn
    • Modified Starch or Modified Food Starch unless arrowroot, corn, potato, tapioca, waxy maize, or maize is used
    • Vegetable Gum unless vegetable gums are carob bean gum, locust bean gum, cellulose gum, guar gum, gum arabic, gum aracia, gum tragacanth, xanthan gum, or vegetable starch
    • Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids unless you know they do not contain wheat
    • Distilled White Vinegar is made from grains and may contain gluten. Many commercially prepared condiments are prepared with distilled white vinegar and may contain very small amounts of gluten.
  3. Any of the following words on food labels usually means that a grain containing gluten has been used:
    • stabilizer
    • starch
    • flavoring
    • emulsifier
    • hydrolyzed
    • plant protein
  4. There are now several companies that produce gluten-free products, and several support groups to provide delicious recipes and help patients adapt to the gluten-free diet.

Wheat may be listed on the label as:

Durum flour Modified food starch
Enriched flour Semolina
Flour Vegetable gums
Gluten Vegetable starches
Wheat germ Wheat
Graham flour Wheat bran
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein Wheat starch
Malted cereal syrup

Substitutes for wheat:

Breads and other wheat-free baked goods popcorn, corn chips
Rice cakes and crackers Corn tortillas
Homemade baked goods made without wheat Rye crackers
Cornmeal coating Salt
Gravies and sauces thickened with cornstarch, potato starch, etc. Worcestershire sauce
Meat products without wheat added Rice, corn pasta
Wheat-free cereals, rice chex, cream of rice

Food Group

Do Not Contain Gluten

May Contain Gluten

Contain Gluten

Milk & milk products (2 or more cups daily)

whole, low fat, skim, dry, evaporated, or condensed milk; buttermilk; cream; whipping cream; Velveeta cheese food; American cheese; all aged cheeses, such as Cheddar, Swiss, Edam, and parmesan

sour cream commercial chocolate milk and drinks, non-dairy creamers, all other cheese products, yogurt

malted drinks

Meat or meat substitutes (5 to 6 oz daily)

100% meat (no grain additives); seafood; poultry (breaded with pure cornmeal, potato flour, or rice flour); peanut butter; eggs; dried beans or peas

meat patties; canned meat; sausages; cold cuts; bologna; hot dogs; stew; hamburger; chili; commercial omelets, souffls, fondue; soy protein meat substitutes

croquettes, fish, chicken loaves made with bread or bread crumbs, breaded or floured meats, meatloaf, meatballs, pizza, ravioli, any meat or meat substitute, rye, barley, oats, buckwheat, gluten stabilizers

Breads & grains (4 or more servings daily)

cream of rice; cornmeal; hominy; rice; wild rice; gluten-free noodles; rice wafers; pure corn tortillas; specially prepared breads made with rice, potato, soybean, or arrowroot flour, Kellogg's Sugar pops; puffed rice; post's Fruity and Chocolate pebbles

cornbread, packaged rice mixes, ready-to-eat cereals containing malt flavoring

breads, buns, rolls, biscuits, muffins, crackers, and cereals containing wheat, wheat germ, oats, barley, rye, buckwheat, bran, graham flour, malt; kasha; bulgur; millet; Melba toast; matzo; bread crumbs; pastry; pizza dough; regular noodles, spaghetti, macaroni, and other pasta; rusks; dumplings; zwieback; pretzels; prepared mixes for waffles and pancakes; bread stuffing or filling

Fats & oils (servings depend on caloric needs)

butter,margarine, vegetable oil

shortening, lard, salad dressings, non-dairy creamers, mayonnaise

gravy and cream sauces thickened with flour

Fruits (2 or more servings daily)

plain, fresh, frozen, canned, or dried fruit; all fruit juices

pie fillings, thickened or prepared fruit, fruit fillings

none

Vegetables (3 or more servings daily)

fresh, frozen, or canned vegetables; white and sweet potatoes; yams

vegetables with sauces, commercially prepared vegetables and salads, canned baked beans, pickles, marinated vegetables, commercially seasoned vegetables

creamed or breaded vegetables; those prepared with wheat, rye, oats, barley, buckwheat, or gluten stabilizers

Snacks & desserts (servings depend on caloric needs)

brown and white sugar, rennet, fruit whips, gelatin, jelly, jam, honey, molasses, pure cocoa, fruit ice, popcorn, carob

custards, puddings, ice cream, ices, sherbet, pie fillings, candies, chocolate, chewing gum, cocoa, potato chips

cakes, cookies, doughnuts, pastries, dumplings, ice cream cones, pies, prepared cake and cookie mixes, pretzels, bread pudding

Beverages (4 to 6 cups or more daily)

tea, carbonated beverages (except root beer), fruit juices, mineral and carbonated waters, wines

coffee, decaffeinated coffee, cocoa mixes, root beer, vodka, chocolate drinks, nutritional supplements, beverage mixes

postum, Ovaltine, malt-containing drinks, cocomalt, beer, ale, gin, whiskey, rye

Soups

those made with allowed ingredients

commercially prepared soups, broths, soup mixes, bouillon cubes

soups thickened with wheat flour or gluten-containing grains; soup containing barley, pasta, or noodles

Thickening agents

gelatin, arrowroot starch; corn flour, germ, or bran; potato flour; potato starch flour; rice bran and flour; rice polish; soy flour; tapioca, sago

wheat starch; all flours containing wheat, oats, rye, malt, barley, or graham flour; all-purpose flour; white flour; wheat flour; buckwheat; bran; cracker meal; durham flour; wheat germ

Condiments

wheat-free soy sauce

flavoring syrups (for pancakes or ice cream), olives, pickles, relish, ketchup, mayonnaise, horseradish, salad dressings, tomato sauces, meat sauce, mustard, taco sauce, soy sauce, chip dips

distilled white vinegar

Seasonings

salt, pepper, herbs, flavored extracts, food coloring, cloves, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, bicarbonate of soda, baking powder, cream of tartar, monosodium glutamate

curry powder, seasoning mixes, meat extracts

synthetic pepper, brewer's yeast (unless prepared with a sugar molasses base), yeast extract (contains barley)

prescription products

all medicines: check with pharmacist or pharmaceutical company

Sample Menu
Breakfast Lunch Dinner
  • cream of rice 1/2 cup
  • skim milk 1 cup
  • banana 1 med
  • orange juice 1/2 cup
  • sugar 1 tsp
  • baked chicken 3 oz
  • rice 1/2 cup
  • green beans 1/2 cup
  • apple juice 1/2 cup
  • ice cream (made with-out wheat stabilizers ) 1/2 cup
  • sirloin steak 3 oz
  • baked potato 1 med
  • peas 1/2 cup
  • fruited gelatin 1/2 cup
  • butter 1 Tbsp
  • tea 1 cup
  • sugar 1 tsp
This Sample Diet provides the Following

Calories

1748

Fat

62 gm

protein

77 gm

Sodium

1577 mg

Carbohydrates

225 gm

potassium

2934 mg

We ship out to the UK, EU and all over the world. In the UK, and reduced shipping on all orders over £35. We have a special offer of 'Buy 5, get 1 free' some of our special offers are even better than this with 'Buy 3 get 1 free', 'Buy 2, get 1 free' and even 'BOGOF' (Buy 1, get 1 free) on selected products. View our special offers page for full details.

© AltHealth 2017 | All rights reserved | Site by Cultrix